621 18th St
Oakland, California 94612
(415) 729-3748

Department of Homeland Security (DHS)

President Bush created the Department of Homeland Security in response to the terrorist attacks on America at the World Trade Center Towers in New York City and The Pentagon in Washington, DC. The mission of the Department of Homeland Security is to:

Prevent terrorist attacks within the United States;
Reduce America's vulnerability to terrorism; and
Minimize the damage and recover from attacks that do occur.

The Department of Homeland Security has four divisions including The Border and Transportation Security Division. The Border and Transportation Security Division includes the Coast Guard, Customs Service, Immigration and Naturalization Service, and the Transportation Security Administration. The Department of Homeland Security is responsible for securing United State�s borders and the transportation systems, managing who and what enters the US, as well as preventing the entry of terrorists and the instruments of terrorism while ensuring the speedy flow of legitimate traffic. This includes functions previously performed by the U.S. Coast Guard and Immigration and Visa Services. In fact all of the functions of the former Immigrantion and Naturalization Service have been transferred to the DHS under the Bureau of Citizenship and Immigration Services (BCIS). The Bureau of Immigration and Customs Enforcement (BCIE) now conducts investigative and interior enforcement functions under the DHS. Immigration inspections at U.S. borders, and enforcement is performed by the Bureau of Customs and Border Protection (BCBP), as well as agricultural inspections and customs.

The other divisions are for: Emergency Preparedness and Response; Science and Technology (formally titled 'Chemical, Biological, Radiological and Nuclear Countermeasures'); Information Analysis and Infrastructure Protection (which includes the CIA, FBI, DIA and NSA).

The White House
Washington, DC
+1 (202) 456-9713